Sunday, February 21, 2010

Wicked Lovely Series by Melissa Marr

Having read through many of the urban fantasy books, I'm always on the lookout for a hot new books to add to my "must read" lists. I read the first 3 books (Wicked Lovely, Ink Exchange, Fragile Eternity) back to back. Like a lot of books, this one does have it's faults (a few dry patches, confusion at times), but unlike most books these are minor in comparison to the well developed plot and fleshed out characters. I couldn't stop thinking about the characters. Looking forward to the release of the next book in the series, Radiant Shadows. It will be out April 20, 2010!

Description from Wicked Lovely, #1:
Rule #3: Don't stare at invisible faeries.
Aislinn has always seen faeries. Powerful and dangerous, they walk hidden in the mortal world. Aislinn fears their cruelty-especially if they learn of her Sight-and wishes she were as blind to their presence as other teens.

Rule #2: Don't speak to invisible faeries.
Now faeries are stalking her. One of them, Keenan, who is equal parts terrifying and alluring, is trying to talk to her, asking questions Aislinn is afraid to answer.

Rule #1: Don't ever attract their attention.
But it's too late. Keenan is the Summer King, who has sought his queen for nine centuries. Without her, summer itself will perish. His is determined that Aislinn will become the Summer Queen at any cost-regardless of her plans or desires.

Suddenly none of the rules that have kept Aislinn safe are working anymore, and everything is on the line: her freedom; her best friend, Seth; everything.
Faery intrigue, mortal love, and the clash of ancient rules and modern expectations swirl together in Melissa Marr's stunning twenty-first-century faery tale.

Music I'm listening to...